Databricks

Type: company (data & AI lakehouse platform vendor) Sector: Data & AI platform; data/AI governance via Unity Catalog First seen: 2026-06-24 Last updated: 2026-08-21

Updated 2026-08-21 based on S-2026-08-21-weekly-vendor-synthesis — the weekly vendor synthesis names the $5B funding round together with the deepened Microsoft/Azure partnership as a concrete DORA Critical Third-Party concentration instance, and adds an explicit relates-to edge to Operational Resilience and Third Party Risk converting the standing open question below from an isolated inference into a named cross-reference on that topic page [inference — S-2026-08-21-weekly-vendor-synthesis].

Updated 2026-08-18 based on S-2026-08-13-databricks-7b-runrate and S-2026-07-23-databricks-microsoft-partnership — (1) 13 Aug 2026: surpassed a $7B revenue run-rate (>80% YoY, company-reported) and closed the $5B strategic round at a $190B valuation (Coatue lead; Blackstone, MGX, T. Rowe Price, Sixth Street Growth), with capital directed at Unity AI Gateway, Genie and Lakebase — the 16-Jul term sheet at $188B closed higher. (2) 23 Jul 2026: expanded decade-long Microsoft partnership “into the 2030s” (core operations on Azure Databricks, Azure Cobalt 200 adoption, Genie integrated into Microsoft products).

Updated 2026-08-03 based on S-2026-07-29-ibm-databricks-brickbuilder — IBM Consulting earned Brickbuilder Specializations in AI and Security & Governance (29 Jul 2026, valid to 31 Jan 2027): governance delivery on the lakehouse is now a credentialed partner category. Also noted: Snowflake’s Cortex AI Gateway (28 Jul 2026, S-2026-07-28-snowflake-cortex-ai-gateway) directly echoes Unity AI Gateway — same control-plane framing, overlapping identity partners (Okta, SailPoint, Saviynt) — so the June “upcoming partner ecosystem” claim now has a shipped-announcement rival [inference].

Updated 2026-07-10 based on S-2026-06-15-immuta-databricks-agentic-access — added Immuta as a second named governance partner building on Unity Catalog (four access-governance capabilities GA 15 June, including a vendor-claimed agent-access audit trail kept inside Unity Catalog). Updated 2026-07-13 based on a full-text refetch of S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit — added Contextual Service Policies (Beta), managed MCP services, hard spend caps, unified tracing/Lakewatch, the upcoming security/identity partner ecosystem, and Managed Omnigent (Beta).

Created 2026-06-24 from S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit and S-2026-06-16-collibra-databricks-governance (daily vendor-intelligence scan). Capability claims are vendor-reported and not independently verified; the cited FS use case is anonymised.

Updated 2026-07-08 based on S-2026-06-30-databricks-ai-governance-guide (daily AI-governance vendor-intelligence scan) — Databricks published (30 Jun 2026, per AIGI) a practitioner guide on enterprise AI-governance program design: classify AI use cases by risk before applying controls, assign cross-functional roles, build in PII safeguards, monitor across the lifecycle. Extends the company’s positioning from platform capability (Unity Catalog / Unity AI Gateway, 16 Jun) into governance program-design guidance — thought-leadership known only via a secondary AIGI summary; the guide itself was not retrieved. Added as a claim, a tracked change and a source; no existing claim changed.

Snapshot

Databricks is a data & AI “lakehouse” platform vendor whose native governance layer is Unity Catalog. It is relevant to the wiki because the lakehouse is one of the two main runtime substrates (with Snowflake) on which EU/UK regulated firms are being asked to govern data and AI — and Databricks is extending Unity Catalog from data governance into AI-asset and runtime-agent governance, the layer where BCBS 239 lineage, GDPR data control and EU AI Act oversight get operationalised [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit][S-2026-06-16-collibra-databricks-governance].

Positions / Claims they advance

  • At Data + AI Summit 2026 (mid-June 2026) extended Unity Catalog to govern AI assets beyond models — Databricks-hosted models, external model providers, MCP services, agents and skills can be registered, discovered, secured and audited in one framework [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Launched the Unity AI Gateway, positioned as governance for enterprise AI that extends to “the runtime interactions between models, agents, MCP services, skills, and enterprise tools,” with cost controls and smart routing [vendor claim — S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Added ABAC Grant Policies (Beta for models), and Identity Attributes / Context Attributes (previews) for attribute-based, identity- and context-aware access control across AI components [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Launched Contextual Service Policies (Beta) — runtime allow/deny/require-approval controls over agent actions (file modification, code pushes, enterprise-system access, sensitive-data interaction), with AI guardrails against PII exposure, prompt injection, jailbreaks and unsafe content; policies scoped by user, agent, model, MCP service, tool, or request/response content [vendor claim — S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Ships managed MCP services (Google Drive, Jira, Confluence, Slack, GitHub, SharePoint) plus custom MCP registration as a governed tool inventory; adds hard AI spend caps, granular cost attribution and smart routing; monitoring adds unified tracing of model/MCP activity and Lakewatch-based investigation of gateway traces [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Names an upcoming partner ecosystem across AI security (CrowdStrike, Palo Alto Networks, Zscaler, Cyera, HiddenLayer, Netskope, Noma, Obsidian, Openlayer, Alice) and identity (Okta, Ping Identity, SailPoint, Saviynt) — explicitly roadmap, not shipped [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Customer evidence remains thin for EU/UK FS: named gateway users are Udemy (ed-tech), First American (US title insurance, “regulated industry” framing) and Flo Health (prospective quote only) [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Cited a financial-services firm building a mortgage-advisory agent on Unity Catalog that explains denial reasons while redacting sensitive financial details — vendor-presented, anonymised, not stated to be EU/UK [vendor claim — S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • Recognised governance partners build on Unity Catalog: Collibra was named Databricks’ 2026 Data Governance Partner of the Year with a bi-directional Unity Catalog integration (Genie, Agent Bricks) [S-2026-06-16-collibra-databricks-governance].
  • Reported (13 Aug 2026) passing a $7B revenue run-rate (>80% YoY in its Q2) and closing a $5B strategic round at a $190B valuation (Coatue lead; Blackstone, MGX, T. Rowe Price, new investor Sixth Street Growth), with investment directed at Unity AI Gateway (“multi-AI governance and cost controls”), Genie and Lakebase; Lakebase passed a $100M run-rate and Lakehouse a $1.5B run-rate (>100% YoY). All figures company-reported and unaudited [S-2026-08-13-databricks-7b-runrate].
  • Expanded (23 Jul 2026) its decade-long Microsoft partnership “into the 2030s”: core business operations on Azure Databricks, adoption of Azure Cobalt 200 Arm infrastructure (vendor-claimed up to 50% better performance, memory encryption by default), and Microsoft integrating Databricks capabilities including Genie across its products [vendor claims — S-2026-07-23-databricks-microsoft-partnership].
  • Published (30 Jun 2026, per AIGI) a practitioner-oriented enterprise AI-governance guide recommending firms inventory and classify AI use cases by risk level before applying controls, assign cross-functional roles, embed PII safeguards, and monitor proactively across the AI lifecycle — aimed at “enterprise compliance teams building or maturing AI governance programs on data and model platforms.” The risk-classification-first sequence mirrors EU AI Act use-case classification and NIST AI RMF Map→Manage logic [inference]. Vendor thought-leadership known only via a secondary summary; guide not retrieved, recommendations self-interested [S-2026-06-30-databricks-ai-governance-guide].

Relationships

  • partners-with → Collibra — Collibra’s AI Command Center overlays Databricks Unity Catalog (Genie, Agent Bricks), capturing runtime lineage; Collibra named Databricks’ 2026 Data Governance Partner of the Year [S-2026-06-16-collibra-databricks-governance].
  • partners-with → Immuta — expanded partnership: Immuta’s agentic data access, task-scoped access control, Comply App and Group-to-Object ABAC built on Unity Catalog RBAC/ABAC, GA 15 June 2026 [S-2026-06-15-immuta-databricks-agentic-access].
  • partners-with → Microsoft — expanded decade-long partnership (23 Jul 2026): Databricks core operations on Azure Databricks / Azure Cobalt; Microsoft integrating Genie and other Databricks capabilities into its products [S-2026-07-23-databricks-microsoft-partnership].
  • partners-with → IBM — Gold partner; IBM Consulting holds Brickbuilder Specializations in AI and Security & Governance (awarded 29 Jul 2026, valid to 31 Jan 2027) for governance/security delivery on the platform [S-2026-07-29-ibm-databricks-brickbuilder].
  • competes-with → Snowflake — Snowflake’s Cortex AI Gateway (28 Jul 2026) mirrors Unity AI Gateway’s agent-control-plane positioning with overlapping identity partners (Okta, SailPoint, Saviynt) [inference from S-2026-07-28-snowflake-cortex-ai-gateway vs S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • relates-to → Agentic Data Access Governance — lakehouse-native entrant governing AI assets and runtime agent interactions [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • relates-to → BCBS 239 and Data Lineage — Unity Catalog lineage/audit claims bear on BCBS 239 traceability [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • relates-to → EU AI Act — registration/audit of models, agents and MCP services bears on AI Act inventory, logging and oversight [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • relates-to → Operational Resilience and Third Party Risk — the $5B funding round plus deepened Microsoft/Azure partnership is a named vendor-market instance of AI-stack concentration risk on that topic’s DORA Critical Third-Party thread [inference — S-2026-08-21-weekly-vendor-synthesis].

Tracked changes

  • 2026-08-13 (captured 2026-08-18) — Surpassed $7B revenue run-rate (>80% YoY); closed $5B strategic round at $190B valuation (up from the $188B term-sheet valuation announced 16 Jul 2026); capital directed at Unity AI Gateway, Genie, Lakebase [S-2026-08-13-databricks-7b-runrate].
  • 2026-07-23 (captured 2026-08-18) — Expanded Microsoft partnership “into the 2030s”: Azure Databricks for core operations, Azure Cobalt 200 adoption, Genie integrated across Microsoft products [S-2026-07-23-databricks-microsoft-partnership].
  • 2026-06-15 (captured 2026-07-10) — Immuta expanded its Databricks partnership with four GA capabilities built on Unity Catalog RBAC/ABAC (Agentic Data Access, Intent-Driven Access Control, Comply App, Group-Based Permission Assignment); Databricks SVP Stephen Orban quoted endorsing the integration [S-2026-06-15-immuta-databricks-agentic-access].
  • 2026-06-16 — At Data + AI Summit 2026, extended Unity Catalog to govern AI assets (models, external providers, MCP services, agents, skills), launched Unity AI Gateway, added ABAC Grant Policies (Beta) and Identity/Context Attributes (preview); cited an anonymised FS mortgage-advisory-agent use case [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].
  • 2026-06-30 (surfaced 2026-07-08) — Published an enterprise AI-governance best-practice guide (risk-classification-first, cross-functional roles, PII safeguards, lifecycle monitoring), per the AI Governance Institute’s 3 July roundup; secondary summary only, guide not retrieved [S-2026-06-30-databricks-ai-governance-guide].
  • 2026-08-03 — IBM Brickbuilder Specializations (AI; Security & Governance) added as partner-ecosystem signal; competes-with edge to Snowflake added on the Cortex AI Gateway echo [S-2026-07-29-ibm-databricks-brickbuilder][S-2026-07-28-snowflake-cortex-ai-gateway].
  • 2026-07-13 — Full text of the 16 June Unity AI Gateway post re-ingested: Contextual Service Policies (Beta), managed MCP services, hard spend caps, unified tracing/Lakewatch, upcoming security/identity partner ecosystem, Managed Omnigent (Beta), named non-EU/UK customers [S-2026-06-16-databricks-unity-ai-gateway-summit].

Open Questions

  • The cited FS mortgage-advisory deployment is unnamed and not stated to be EU/UK — adoption evidence in EU/UK regulated FS is unconfirmed.
  • Whether Unity Catalog audit records for agents/MCP services/skills meet EU AI Act Article 12 logging and BCBS 239 reconciliation thresholds (unverified).
  • EU data-residency/sovereignty options for Unity AI Gateway governance not addressed.
  • Whether the $5B raise translates into EU/UK-relevant compliance capability (AI Act logging evidence, residency) or stays cost/routing-focused — the 13-Aug release (as retrieved) does not say [S-2026-08-13-databricks-7b-runrate].
  • Whether deeper Databricks-on-Azure coupling worsens concentration risk for EU/UK FIs under DORA’s critical-third-party lens, and whether Genie-in-Microsoft-products inherits Purview or Unity Catalog controls [S-2026-07-23-databricks-microsoft-partnership].

Sources