Delay to Start of the PECB ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor Pathway
Tag: S-2026-08-16-pathway-start-delay Type: own-writing Author(s): Paul Miles (in-session instruction, Cowork session 16 Aug 2026) Date of source: 2026-08-16 Date ingested: 2026-08-16 Authority weight: high — Paul’s direct statement of his own plan Raw file: S-2026-08-16-pathway-start-delay.md
What it claims
The start of the 12-week PECB ISO/IEC 42001 Lead Auditor training pathway (10 hours/week, ~120 hours) is delayed: study activities will not begin until 13 September 2026, with completion targeted either just before or just after the Christmas 2026 period. Some of the standards referenced by the pathway have been secured (which ones is not specified). The same statement was captured to Open Brain on 2026-08-16, which additionally notes that the delay supersedes the week-numbered anchoring in the 9-Aug decision analysis (Week-3 enrolment “now”; Week-8 mock gate 7–13 Sep 2026) and that all week-numbered milestones should be re-baselined from a Week-1 start of 13 Sep 2026.
Notable quotes
- “I will not start the study activities until 13th September with a view to complete either just before or after the Christmas period” (Paul, in-session, 2026-08-16)
- “I have secured some of the standards” (Paul, in-session, 2026-08-16)
What’s speculative vs. asserted
- Asserted: start date 13 Sep 2026; 12 weeks / 10 h per week / ~120 h shape unchanged; completion target just before or just after Christmas 2026; some standards secured.
- Derived (not stated by Paul): nominal 12-week arithmetic from 13 Sep gives a Week-12 end of ~5 Dec 2026, so the stated Christmas-straddling completion implies roughly 2–5 weeks of buffer/slippage, possibly into early January 2027. [inference]
- Not determined: which standards have been secured; whether the October exam target formally moves and to when; whether the Week-3 provider enrolment re-baselines to w/c 28 Sep and the Week-8 gate to w/c 2 Nov (arithmetic re-baseline, not yet confirmed by Paul).
Topics this feeds
- PECB ISO 42001 Lead Auditor Certification — re-baselines the pathway schedule and gate dates.
Open questions raised
- Which of the seven standards are now in hand, and does the remaining acquisition (per S-2026-08-09-iso-standards-acquisition) need completing before 13 Sep?
- New exam-target window: nominal Week 10–12 exam prep now lands late Nov–early Dec 2026; does the exam sit before Christmas or in January 2027?
- Does the delayed start change the AI Assurance Transition Plan’s September Month-2 exit criterion and the end-Oct / end-Dec KPIs from the pros-and-cons gate framework?